A Week of Mental Health and Disability…Aspergers

Teacup Conversation is spending a week interviewing various people on the topic of Mental Health and Disability, in the hopes to shed light on the lives and experiences of those who are affected.

Today’s topic is Aspergers. autism.org. describes Aspergers as:  “a form of autism, which is a lifelong disability that affects how a person makes sense of the world, processes information and relates to other people. Autism is often described as a ‘spectrum disorder’ because the condition affects people in many different ways and to varying degrees.”

Anon, 14, Essex


In your own words, can you define what Aspergers is, or what it is to you?

To me, Aspergers is a condition which certain people will be born with. I think it tends to make people a lot more anti-social, sometimes over dramatic, irritable and also can help boost people’s interests for certain hobbies, which can be useful when learning/studying as they will show more interest. It’s not something which personally affects me too much, not to say it doesn’t affect me and my personality, but it doesn’t bother me. It’s not something I think about a lot.

 Tell the reader a little bit about yourself?

I’m a pretty quiet person, I don’t do too much exciting stuff, mainly sit indoors and use my computer or play some video games. I like to read stuff on my computer sometimes too, and talk to people with Skype and such. I’m home schooled, and I stopped going to public school maybe about a year and a half ago because I found it quite stressful being around so many people.

How does a typical day in your life go?

In my typical day, I’ll just wake up, use the computer, do school work and then sleep. Sometimes I’ll go out with mum to the shopping centre to eat or something.

How does Aspergers affect your day to day life?

I feel Aspergers doesn’t affect my life too much anymore, it used to quite a bit, but when it comes to being at home, I’m pretty chilled out. Of course though, when I’m out or if I was at public school, it would affect me quite a lot.

Do you think there is a stigma attached to Aspergers, and do you feel as if anyone treats you any differently?

Uh well, kind of a tricky question, but I don’t think anyone treats me too differently, certainly not the friends I have. Though, I do think a lot of people tend to judge people with this condition, which sometimes may be fair. I’m not really talking about bullying, bullying is never fair but I’ve seen quite a few people who have Aspergers pretty bad, and they say the weirdest things. I think personally they should be monitored by their parents a bit better, if possible.

What would you like to tell people about Aspergers?

I think if I had to say something about Aspergers, I would say that it’s not such a bad thing, though it can affect your life from day to day. As you get older, it tends to go away, though I feel it’s usually there a lot with younger and very old people.

I myself am happily open to jokes/opinions about it; I’m not very touchy about the subject at all.

One thought on “A Week of Mental Health and Disability…Aspergers

  1. Pingback: The Garden Hose Wasn’t Where He Left It | Jolly K. Leonard

What do you think?

